Review: Bossman

Bossman by Vi KeelandBossman
by Vi Keeland

4.25 Buttercup stars

The first book I read by Keeland was “Throb” and I admit, it didn’t blow me away. The second one “Worth the fight” was even more disappointing. So for a while I sworn off this author. But then I read “Stuck-Up Suit” and even if it was a four-hands work, I completely fell in love with the characters, the style, the EVERYTHING.

I guess “Stuck up suit” is the real reason why I gave Bossman a chance. And am I glad I did!
Truth be told, Bossman is one step beneath Stuck-up suit, but still remains a fun quick read. I particularly appreciated Chase as a character. His propensity for making up stories was refreshing and his cocky attitude mixed with a quick brain made for witty banter were the cherry on top of an already delicious cake.

Reese I liked too, but in the end I didn’t find in her anything different than any other heroine in the genre. It was nice how their backstories spelled the same fears and issues, but beside that her character wasn’t one of the strong suits of this book.

The style is enjoyable and the sexual tension, coupled with the magnetic pull naturally created by Chase’s appeal, was very well conveyed. So why the 4 stars? Namely because of three things:

1. The story wasn’t exactly original. And I get that if you read these kinds of books, you already know what you’re going to get. It’s part of the deal, but sometimes books can still have that something more that… leads the story somewhere unexpected, surprising the reader. But in this case, what you see is exactly what you get. This is an office romance. It’s hot, it’s kinda forbidden, and the characters have baggage.

2. The predictability of the plot. Now, before you jump at my throat, yes, their pasts aren’t predictable from the beginning, but it’s explained pretty early in the narration and from then on you already sense what is going to happen between the two of them.

3. The epilogue. Too short. Yes, it was sweet and funny in a very Chase-y way, but I would have loved to see them a little bit more down the way.

Still, it was a damn good book. I devoured it in less than 36 hours. Keeland’s style has both that light fun quality that never gives way to boredom and a good dose of “meaningful” that grabs your heart other than your mind.

One thought on “Review: Bossman

Leave a Reply

