Review: Heart-Shaped Hack

Heart-Shaped Hack by Tracey Garvis-Graves

Heart-Shaped Hack (Kate and Ian, #1)
by Tracey Garvis-Graves

 untitled

Oh, my feels! Deliciously all over the place.

This book took me by surprise. It’s my first by Garvis-Graves so I didn’t know what to expect. What I got was not was I saw coming. Am I grateful for that! It had the same taste as Wallbanger but with much more sweetness and plot twists. And a little less crazy.

The dialogue was fresh and it cracked me up. Especially when Ian came up with things like: “It sounds so distasteful when you say it like that. I prefer master appropriator of ill-gotten funds. You can call me master for short.”

What I liked the most, beside Ian (because, well… Ian), was how their love story progressed naturally. It was well structured and you could literally feel them getting more and more involved until everything fell into place effortlessly.

If I had only two word to describe this book they’d be: FUN and SWEET. But sometimes, when books are funny and sweet, they tend not to hit you right in the feels and only skim the surface. Well, “Heart-Shaped Hack” will throat punch you right in the feels, especially at a certain point. It got me all teared up. (Still sobbing from shock).

Anyway, let’s talk serious things here. Kate. What a witty, strong heroine. What I liked the most about her was her not being a complicated person, not having insecurity issues or such. It was so nice being in her head and enjoying all things…

Ian. All things blissfully, sexily, Ian. Dear Ian, you are perfect. Hot, smart, caring. Incredibly thoughtful. What’s more romantic than a man fucking up an entire airport air traffic for you to get home to him? And do we want to talk about the Jumbotron and the road signals?

Ian being an hacker was such an original thing, especially since it was a great drive for the plot, making this book interesting and giving it twists once in a while. It wasn’t exactly a suspense thriller, but it surely conveyed some mystery vibes. Also, I’m now convinced hackers ARE the new sexy, and will count down the days until the next chapter in this wonderful series comes out to play with my feelings again.

I’ll finish with a quote that won’t mean anything to those who haven’t already read it, but those who have will surely melt at this. Here we go…

“Someday I’ll tell you exactly when I knew I loved you. Then we’ll see who was first.”

716251 101920-simple-red-glossy-icon-social-media-logos-facebook-logo

Leave a Reply

