December Book Challenge Day #10

This challenge was created by @AnnReads for Bookstagram.

cydhwn3weae_t4z

Day #10

Books I didn’t finish

City of Sin (The Hunted, #2.5)                           The Wall of Winnipeg and Me                            Outlander (Outlander #1)

Woman On The Run                            My Sweetest Escape (My Favorite Mistake, #2)                          Magic Bites (Kate Daniels, #1)

I remember it used to be unheard of me to DNF a book during my first years as a bookworm, especially since my reading habit was so dependent on paperbacks. Now, with e-books and ARCs falling from left and right begging to be read, I find myself more and more inclined to skim or DNF if the novel doesn’t hold my interest. I still try to soldier through and, if it’s an ARC, I will read it. Still, I couldn’t bring myself to finish these six books. Why?

City of Sin: I skimmed through it, at least the last third. I’d come to hate the H and was seriously annoyed with the spineless h.

The Wall of Winnipeg: highly recommended, I couldn’t bring myself to love the H, which IMO was the definition of an asshole. Also, the narration was so slow I got easily distracted and bored.

Outlander: I admit at reading it (or trying to) after watching the tv show, which I adored. For how great the style was, I couldn’t feel a connection to the characters and the Scottish slang didn’t help matters. It all seemed too distant for me to get lost in their world.

Woman on the Run: I’d waited ages to read this book, thinking it would be a hit given how I love the “on the run” theme. The style was better than average, but the story wasn’t what I was looking for.

My Sweetest Escape: after loving the first instalment in the series, I came into this with high expectations, all of which crumbled to the ground as I was confronted with childish, annoying MCs with zero chemistry.

Magic Bites: please, don’t kill me for this. I thought this series would be similar to the Night Huntress series by Frost, which is an absolute favorite of mine, but I saw very little romance and too much world-building. I love myself some PNR, but the R part needs to be preponderant for me to thoroughly enjoy it, so Kate Daniels was a miss.

4 thoughts on “December Book Challenge Day #10

    • taliaredhotink says:

      *goes hiding*
      I had such high expectations for both of these books, but I guess the writing style just didn’t push my buttons. On the plus side, I think I could pick Kate Daniel up again in the future, but Winnipeg is a no-no.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Happily Ever After says:

        The first time i read Kate Daniels i skimmed a lot. I wanted Curran and Kate and didn’t get enough. Same with book 2. Book 3 finally got me exited and I was hooked. Looking back I didn’t really appreciate the writing and everything else that came with Kate. Nowadays I reread the entire series every year, and I savor all of it. But the first two book were boring the first time I read it. So, try it again another time, maybe it will be better.;-)

        Like

Leave a Reply

