December Book Challenge #20

This challenge was created by @AnnReads for Bookstagram.

cydhwn3weae_t4zDay #20

Didn’t meet your expectation

I’m quite the optimistic person and my usual attitude toward a book before I begin is “I so know you’re going to be amazing!”. Unfortunately, that’s not always the case and lots of books don’t meet my enthusiastic expectations. Here I’ll only list those that missed the didn’t reach the standard by more than the proverbial mile.

Ghost (Boston Underworld #3)I had specifically requested Ghost’s ARC after seeing it appear on my GR feed multiple times and reading people waxing poetics about the Boston Underworld series. To say that it didn’t meet my expectations would be to  put it mildly. This book was something completely different from what I had expected… and not in a good way.

 

Us (Him #2)Sadly, this book didn’t meet my expectations either. I loved, loved, loved the first instalment, Him, but Us left me with a bittersweet taste in my mouth. The characters I’d fallen so deeply in love with in Him at times acted like different people, and although their love was never really questioned, their relationship was threatened by a deluge of drama-llama. I’d been expecting something sweet, happy and sexy, but got almost nothing of the first two and very little of the third.


Retrieval (The Retrieval Duet, #1)Probably one of the most anticipated books of the fall, Retrieval was standing on such a high pedestal I should have known the fall would be terrifying. There was very little I appreciated of this book and it took me forever to finish it, always a sign that I’ve got some beef with it. Retrieval is the golden medal winner  for the “didn’t meet my expectations” award.


Mother's Love (Mercy's Angels, #4)Mother’s Love is the fourth and last book in a four-instalments series called “Mercy’s Angels” about abused/traumatized heroines and their journey back to a fulfilling, happy life. We meet the h of Mother’s Love in the very first book and also the romance starts building well before the beginning of the fourth novel, so I had been anticipating Annie’s story for a very long time. When it was finally her turn to find an HEA, very little space was given to the romantic aspect, which left me unsatisfied and disappointed.

King (King, #1)Again a book I’d been seeing on my feed for ages and that was supposed to be the best book ever. I was told to prepare to fall madly in love with King… and instead ended up hating him with the fierceness of a Valkyrie. I found the MCs’ relationship unhealthy and twisted, lacking the basic feelings that love should elicit. I had saved King as one of my first reads of 2016 hoping for a good start, but apparently it wasn’t the case.


Black Ice (Ice, #1)I found out about this book during one of my sleuthing sprees for very specific topics, in this case “on the run” novels. The author was very well-known, the book part of a series, the premise enticing. Yet it bored me to death and the romance was completely unbelievable and surreal. Plus, the H sleeping with other women when they’re separated (while the h’s of course wallowing in desperation) was the deal-breaker. Lastly, this book read old (probably because of the author’s age itself), the pace light years away from the fast one I expect from an “on the run” novel.

Real (Real, #1)Recommended by everyone and their cousin, Real was the silver medal of disappointments this year. I though I was in for an epic romance that would cure me of my Travis Maddox and O’Connell’s withdrawals symptoms, and instead got hundreds of pages of wild sex with very little romance, an OTT possessive H who more than once crossed the asshole line, and a doormat of a h that got on my very last nerve too many pages before the one sporting the word END.

I've Got Your NumberSophie Kinsella is one of those authors I’d always heard about, even before I got into reading romance. In my mind, she was some kind of a pillar, the ancestor and the prime example of a genre: romantic-comedy. So finally I picked up one of her books and was horrified by both the shallow quality and the utter lack of feelings involved. Also, the negative heat level’s value was a serious reason of brownie points’ loss.


In Your Dreams (Falling, #4)This book is the last instalment of a series I loved to the moon and back, the “Falling” series. I’d fallen hard for all the previous Hs and had been awed by Scott’s ability to shape such amazingly rounded characters. Here, the second wasn’t a problem, but I didn’t fall for Casey, the H, and although maybe this was the most realistic book of the four, it didn’t give me that thrill I’d come to expect from the author. Casey and Murphy were maybe too human, but I couldn’t truly feel their romance or be excited about it.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

