December Book Challenge #28 – #29

This challenge was created by @AnnReads for Bookstagram.

cydhwn3weae_t4zDay #28

Last Read of 2016

Since studying for my exams in Jan at uni has swallowed me whole, I think the historical novel I’m currently reading will be my last book this year. I didn’t think it would be my jazz, but I’m totally digging it so far (weird, anachronistic hair-dos notwithstanding).

A Perfect Plan (Wiltshire Chronicles, #1)

 

 

Day #29

Book you finally read this year

Him (Him #1)

I guess one of the reasons I waited for so long to start this one was bacause I knew it would be crazy good. Still, there’s a part of me that curled its nose at the whole “summer training camp” thing. I didn’t know how to feel about them re-meeting after years… and well, what I’m trying to say is that it smelled of second-chance romance, and I’m not a fan of  those. Still, I could tell it would be epic. It was an inner conflict.

 

 

The Strongest Steel (Second Circle Tattoos, #1)

This book has been on my TBR list since… ever! It’s one of those books you know are going to be a light read, nice, but nothing more. Turned out the H checked all my boxes, but I was right about the story in general: it didn’t blow me away.

 

 

Kiss of Midnight (Midnight Breed,  #1)

As a fan of the BDB series, I was told this one would curb my cravings for Ward’s world. It did, partially. It didn’t compare, but it wasn’t a total failure.

 

 

 

 

On Dublin Street (On Dublin Street, #1)

On Dublin Street. This cover has kept flashing on my GR’s feed forever but I never got around to reading it because, well, because that’s what it happens when your TBR is taller than you. I eventually read it and wasn’t really impressed. I’d thought of this book as the poster book for romance (I don’t even know why) and I didn’t enjoy it 100%. It was good, just not epic.

Withering HopeThe first time I saw this book, it was one of GR’s giveaways. I didn’t win, but it sat on my “to-read” shelf for years. I liked the concept of getting stranded in the Amazonian rain-forest, but could never find the time to pick this one up. This year I finally did and I really loved it. The romance took a while to develop and at times I wanted to shake the heroine, but there is something intrinsically romantic about survival and sacrifices and the hope that love can give birth to even in the most arduous of conditions.

Leave a Reply

