Unpopular Opinion Book Tag

It’s ten to midnight here but I’m waiting for 1 AM to strike since there’s no way I’m missing #Blur’s release party. This leaves me with a little time to spare. While I was twiddling my thumbs on the keyboard, I came across this tag. It’s something I’ve been meaning to do for a while, mostly because unpopular opinions are always fun to express, and secondly because it’s rare for bloggers to draw the spotlight on the bad reads (at least, that’s what happens to me. I always feel bad writing a bad review, even if constructive).

Oh, and I found out about this tag over at Thecrazyworldofabookblogger

5ab865d4-e4c9-4a5e-8b6e-20953dfb8f3d_zpsffe5tl1g

A popular book/series that you didn’t like

books I hated: Bully (Fall Away, #1)   Kaleidoscope Hearts (Hearts, #1)   I've Got Your Number

books I strongly disliked: Hollywood Dirt (Hollywood Dirt, #1)   The Wall of Winnipeg and Me   Mystery Man (Dream Man, #1)

book that had some good in them, but didn’t live up to the expectations, not in one million years:

Real (Real, #1)   Sincerely, Carter (Sincerely Carter, #1)   Darkfever (Fever, #1)   Easy (Contours of the Heart, #1)   Hopeless (Hopeless, #1)

A popular book or series that everyone else seems to hate but you love

Hush, Hush (Hush, Hush, #1)

 

So what if I was 14 when I read this? I loved it. I loved the mystery, Nora’s sassy behavior and Patch’s attitude and sexy-ness. I see all these people hating on the series and I try to remember whether or not I encountered the same issues. But truth is, I was at the beginning of my book-work-ite, had barely any terms of comparisons or tools to analyze it.

A popular book genre that you hardly reach for

Both historical romance and erotica. I’ve never been interested in the first, and as for erotica I’m always finding myself looking for deeper connections than the ones provided by merely sex. I don’t mind books that aren’t afraid to get dirty, but I still prefer it when the focus is on the romantic relationship.

A popular or beloved character that you do not like

King (King, #1)

Turns out I hate assholes. Which doesn’t mean I do not enjoy bad boys, only that I like ’em with a soft side somewhere, or at least a heart. King was abusive and sick, IMO. This book lacked swoon 😦

 

A popular author that you can’t seem to get into

I was actually thinking of writing a post just  for this question. Unfortunately, the list is long…

  • Kristen Ashley (ducking and hiding. Please don’t hit me)
  • Penelope Douglas
  • Katy Evans
  • Mariana Zapata
  • Sophie Kinsella
  • Claire Contreras
  • Karen Marie Moning

Honestly, I’ve read only a book by most of them, but I guess one was enough. When the style doesn’t call to you, there’s only so much plot or characterization can do. In most cases, I found those two aspects lacking too, so I’m probably not going to be reading these ladies’ works anytime soon.

A popular book trope that you’re tired of seeing

  • Billionaire + virgin
  • Step-whatever.
  • Brother’s best-friend.
  • Office romance
  • Second chances (what can I say? I like seeing them falling in love without all that past-drama, grudge-holding and you-stole-my-cookie-in-third-grade angst)
  • Dead spouse/girlfriend/boyfriend keeping the H/h from moving on
  • Mafia (it’s not romantic).
  • H/h breaking up with their loved one for his/her sake. Just once I’d like to see them team up against evil/life/death/whatever and fight together. All this self-lessness frustrates me.

A popular series that you have no interest in reading

Fifty Shades… Truth be said, there are days I think “I should read it just to know what all the fuss is about.” I watched the first movie and wasn’t blown away. But I’ve been told it gets better. My issue here is that I understand the excitement of all those people who were drawn into erotica, BDSM etc. thanks to this book, but I’ve read my fair share of sexy novels and am sure I’ve read more hard core ones too. That, coupled with my disinterest for sub-Dom relationships makes me fear I’ll get bored pretty fast.

The saying goes “The book is always better than the movie”, but what movie or T.V. show adaptation do you prefer more than the book?

“Insurgent”: the movie was devoid of all that stupid Four/Tris drama that totally ruined the book for me. I actually liked this movie more than the previous one, while the book was a meager 2 stars.

“The Vampire Diaries”: now, I’m not referring to all the surreal things that have been going on on this show lately (sirens, really???). But let’s be real, Lisa Jane Smith’s books can be weird at times (maybe the tv show is not that far from the books, then. Demon Foxes, trees killing people. Mmmmhh). Anyway, the show was less immature when it came to the romantic relationship. Plus, Smith could fill pages and pages of dresses’ descriptions and then rush important action scenes until it wasn’t sure what was happening. That being said, I’m sad she lost the rights for her books. I stopped reading the series when she stopped being the one behind the ink. Oh, and another reason the tv show is better…

Image result for damon salvatore

He’s hilarious, witty, caring, sweet-but-trying-to-hide-it, sarcastic, badass. Damon is basically an asshole who is a closet-heart-of-gold and who’d do anything for the ones he loves. Damon is the real jewel in the show.


The tag is over. I really enjoyed it and I tag whoever wants to participate 🙂

5 thoughts on “Unpopular Opinion Book Tag

    • taliaredhotink says:

      Yeah, well, the ending wasn’t much better. The author killed the only character worth saving, got the h raped by the villain and then quickly moved on as if it weren’t a traumatizing experience. It left me completely baffled, to say the least.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Steph says:

        I couldn’t get passed how blasé she was about being taken by King in the first place. It was so ridiculous! I like darker reads from time to time, but if they just don’t make sense or are just so far stretched, NOPE. Not for me.

        Liked by 1 person

  1. Beware Of The Reader says:

    I love this Tag and post! I think I’ll do it on my blog someday but I have to be honest: I’m pretty easy to please (well with books anyway) and it’s unusual when I don’t like some book or series everyone is raving about. My God! Am I a sheep???? When it does happen (example: Colleen Hoover that’s you’re mentioning is a hit or miss for me, sometimes I love sometimes it’s meh) I’m nearly ashamed and excusing myself with the “it’s not the book it’s me”. Anyway thanks for the post you gave me ideas AND entertained me 😉

    Like

    • taliaredhotink says:

      Thank you for reading, Sophie! I’ll keep an eye out for when you do it on your blog, someday 🙂
      Colleen Hoover is a hit or miss for me too. I gave her another chance after “Hopeless” and read “Confess”, really liking it. And don’t worry, you’re not the only one feeling particularly bad about not liking popular books. I always feel like I need to be extra careful stating that it is MY opinion, and the very PERSONAL reasons why it didn’t work for me.

      Like

Leave a Reply

