Review: “Royally Screwed” by Emma Chase

Royally Screwed (Royally, #1)Royally Screwed by Emma Chase

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

I freakin’ loved this!

It was my first “Royal” romance and I was a bit skeptical because Emma Chase’s “Tangled” didn’t do it for me, and “Tamed” was better but nothing off-the-charts amazing.

Instead, “Royally Screwed” was the perfect mix of funny, hawt and romantic. It totally got me going and I fell for Nicholas since page one. Okay, maybe page 10 or so, when he sobered up.


She straightens, and runs her finger over her lips, gazing down at me. “Did you feel that?”
The spark, the electricity. The desire that feeds on itself, relishing the relief of contact but always wanting more.
“Yes.”
She takes my hand and places it over her breast – where her heartbeat throbs wildly in her chest. “And do you feel this?”
My own chest pounds with the same rhythm.
“Yes.”
“Some people go their whole lives without feeling that.”  


I also adored Olivia. Something I always appreciate in female main characters is if they’re hard-working gals. Still, what I love even more is when they also happen to be sweet people who don’t shy away from love only because they’re too busy. I like balance, and Olivia had the perfect one. Also, her being so outspoken and honest made the dynamics with Nicholas fresh, witty and fun.

The plot overall wasn’t anything too original, but the characters were complex and lovable enough to make it read like something new.


She shakes my hand in a friendly grip. “Lovely to meet you, sweets. Tell me, are you a virgin?”
Nicholas groans. “Ezzy.”
“What? I’m just making conversation.” She elbows him. “If you want a shot at this sorry sack, the V-card has to be in pristine condition. Is it, Olivia?”
I stand up tall. “Does anal count? If it does, I qualify.”
Esmerelda’s red lips open wide in a contagious laugh. “I like this one, Nicky.”  


All in all, I devoured it. It was a page-turner and I loved how their relationship was epic in that desperate way that only loves with an expiration date can be (and also seriously hot. Like they should add a warning: it may combust panties). Still, the book’s atmosphere was mostly happy and easy-going. The dark cloud hanging over their heads didn’t perturb the narration.


Nicholas looks at the helmet, then at Logan. “What’s the worst that could happen?”
“Ah…you could get assassinated and the three of us will hang for treason.”
“Don’t be silly,” Nicholas scoffs. “We haven’t hung anyone in years.” He smacks Logan’s back. “It’d be the firing squad.”


 

2 thoughts on “Review: “Royally Screwed” by Emma Chase

    • taliaredhotink says:

      Yes! I loved it. And it came as such a surprise because I’d sworn off this author after reading Tangled and Tamed. But then I heard this was a much sweeter story, and I’m a sucker for those. So now I’m super glad I gave Chase another chance.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

