Review: “#Finishline” (GearShark #5) by Cambria Hebert

#FinishLine (GearShark, #5)#FinishLine by Cambria Hebert

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

When I think of a Cambria Hebert’s book, this is what pops to mind:

– feelings
– family
– thoughtful, protective heroes
– witty or/and meaningful dialogues
– amazing characterization
– tons of swoon

Sometimes, she adds a bit of heartbreak too, but not in #Finishline. This is the kind of book I define “happy-happy”. It’s basically a novel-long epilogue and I loved every single page of it.

The first 3/4 of the story are dedicated to Arrow and Hopper. Now, if you’ve read my review of #Blur, you know I liked those two, but that they didn’t blow me away. They were both so fragile and careful not to hurt the other, and their love so was transcendent and innate, it was hard sometimes to relate or to understand their connection. Also, #Blur was a complete sob fest in the beginning.

#Finishline is the complete opposite. We see our two guys blissfully happy and yes, a plot twist forces them to confront with one of them’s pasts, but they face it together.

Something I FLOVED was Arrow’s jealousy. I love this kind of jealousy, not the a-holish kind, but the adorable kind when the other’s reassurance is actually worth something. Seeing him struggle with Hopper’s photo shoot endeared him to me even more. Arrow is a more confident character in #Finishline than he was in #Blur, his love for Hopper (and vice-versa) has strengthened him and I appreciated how in the first part of the book it wasn’t him the one to need consolation, but Hopper. In #Blur, Hopper is portrayed as the stronger one, even though he’s been subjected to such a cruel fate in the past. But here in #Blur, Arrow sometimes becomes his crutch against past’s hurts and it went a long way in making me finally fall for these two amazing men.

The wedding brought tears to my eyes. Hebert did a wonderful job at conveying Hopper and Arrow’s feelings during the ceremony. Portraying their love in an all-encompassing way. I even liked Hopper’s initial admission regarding Matt, for how shocking. It was cathartic, truly, and it also gave way to happier, more positive chapters. So, yeah, this book totally satisfied me.

The thing is that Heber manages to make everything meaningful, from small actions meant to protect a loved one to the hot scenes, where love is still the primary drive and maybe, like in this case, it overshadows even the fears of the past. Nothing is included in the story just because. Every word, every dialogue is essential and poignant. There’s never a dull moment when you wonder whether that section was necessary, because they’re all fundamental show all the facets composing these amazing characters, to unveil them to us.


Happiness was attainable for anyone who had enough courage to reach for it. Just because I had to reach further than some only made it that much more appreciated.

My favorite part during Hopper and Arrow’s section was when Trent tried to get a rise out of Hopper when reminding Arrow he’d once hit on Drew. Priceless.

About Joey and Jace… I adored their story so much. It was fantastic to see a-hole Jace nervous about the proposal, then completely brought to his knees by a wiggling, tiny, girl. This part was sooooo romantic and perfectly fit with the rest of the story.

Last, but not least, the interviews. I loved the fact that we got three interviews in this instalment and that we got to catch up with all the characters in the series. Trent and Drew will always be my favorites and I seriously need to re-read #Junkie and #Rev, but so far #Finishline was the perfect conclusion to at least Hopper and Arrow and Josie and Jace’s stories.

5 thoughts on “Review: “#Finishline” (GearShark #5) by Cambria Hebert

    • taliaredhotink says:

      Thanks for reading! This book is pure gold for the fans of the series. After seeing our characters struggle so much in pasts books to get together, finally reading about them getting their HEA is liberating.

      I would definitely recommend the whole GearShark,series, as well as the Hashtag one.

      Like

    • taliaredhotink says:

      Thank you, Mia 🙂
      I reviewed it this morning and emailed her the link to the review and my mailing address right away, but there’s no telling.

      Yesterday on FB she said there were only a few left. If she runs out of them, she usually replies to the email stating so, or maybe saying she’ll email something else, like a post-card of another book or something. We’ll see!

      If I receive it, you’ll probably see a picture of me worshipping it on twitter. I have a special place for them on my bookshelves..They’re the closest things to paperbacks I own since I don’t read tangible books anymore.

      Liked by 1 person

      • miathebookaddict says:

        Hopefully you will get it! Looking forward to see the picture of your #Hashtag & #GearShark shrine on twitter 🙂

        Like

Leave a Reply

