Top Ten Tuesday: things that will make me instantly want to read a book

I think this may be my first Top Ten Tuesday ever!

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. This week, the theme is:

Top Ten Things That Will Make Me Instantly Want To Read A Book


So these are my ten: “Damn, guess it’s ramen again this week” are:

1- Sports romance (preferably football and hockey)

2- Auto-buy authors

3- Sequels of books I loved. Same goes with series

4- Reviews from people I trust and overall hype

5- Heros who’d do anything for the heroine. In general, reading the hero has stolen every readers’ heart

6- Hackers and characters with interesting jobs/interests

7- Stalkers subplots

8- Hints of suspense elements in the blurb

9- Friends to lovers

10– Enemies to lover with great banter and no real hate


This was fun! I never really thought about it, beside the general catchy tropes. What are yours?

 

8 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: things that will make me instantly want to read a book

    • taliaredhotink says:

      I’ve noticed that the hype surrounding the hero is really one of the greatest interest-piquers for me. They are like… people I feel I need to meet. Like when a friend of yours is trying to set you up with a guy she can’t stop raving about and you think: “Mmh, I might actually end up liking this dude.”

      Liked by 1 person

    • taliaredhotink says:

      Sports romance are my Achilles heel. There’s just something about them… be it the celebrity status of the hero, the passion they have for their profession or the hard bods resulting from constant training, they always capture my attention. And yes, sexy covers are always welcome!!!!

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Jazz says:

    10 definitely! I think the animosity between two characters can make for sizzling passion! ❤

    With you on 3, although I do find it painful when there's an entire year between each book 😥

    Liked by 1 person

    • taliaredhotink says:

      Yes, the wait is the worst part! It’s a good thing I’m following so many series so that there’s always some sequel ready on my TBR

      And I also agree about the sizzling passion. It’s a big fat plus in the “enemies to lovers” pro list. The best part of these books is when they finally give in to their feelings 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

