Top Ten Tuesday: Ten Bookish turn-offs (Things That Will Make Me Instantly NOT Want To Read A Book)

Hello! It’s Tuesday again so it’s time for my second Top Ten something. This is a weekly meme created by The Broke and the Bookish and this week we’ll be talking about… drums roll

Top Ten Things That Will Make Me Instantly NOT Want To Read A Book 

1- Authors whose style I know is not for me.

An author’s style is something I always factor in, and sometimes it’s the stronger drive, when it comes to choosing what to read next, which ARC to sign up for etc. It’s like the timbre of an instrument and it can make or break a book for me.

2- Tear-jerkers (yes, dying main characters are not my torture of choice)

I know, I loved “Full Tilt”, but that was a fluke, a special snowflake on my shelves. I love my romances with a HEA, good banter, and only the occasional tear that gets easily brushed away in a ten pages span.

3- Over-angst

I’m not an angst whore. I hate push-and-pull stories and characters who hurt each other just because. I had to lower so many good books’ ratings because of this. Want examples? “Revved” by Towle. Always fighting, making up, fighting some more, hurting each other… it gets old and it gets me frustrated. Half the time I wanted to push them together and say “kiss and make up already!”. “Turbulence” by Whitney G., again with the push and pull. “With Every Heartbeat” by Kage. I lurv this series, but the heartache resulting from the over abundance of angst prevented me from fully enjoying this instalment.

4- Knowing the H is with an OW during the majority of the book.

What the hell, people??? I want to read about the h and the H, possibly together, for as long as possible. If they get together on page ten for some weird trick (fake relationship, bet, room mates, whatever), I’m super happy because I love relationship dynamics. Involving someone else only makes me angry at the H for being with someone who’s not the h and plainly annoys me. Examples: “Waking Olivia“, again “With Every Heartbeat”, and “Bossman” because I’m including over-mentioned dead-girlfriends in the category too.

5- Cruel heroes.

I’m not saying I hate bad boys, or even the occasional asshole. But I divide the a-holes in two categories: those who are assholes to everyone and those who are assholes to everyone BUT the heroine. I love finding out about their golden hearts when it comes to their loved once, so guys who treat the heroine like shit are no-nos for me and have prevented me from adding many a book to the TBR. They just don’t do it for me.

6- Erotica and historical romances

They are not the only genres I avoid, but they are two definite turn-offs. I love some hot times in my books, but I love the romance more. Do I need the steam for a book to be a five star? I kinda do, but I gave 5 stars also to YAs with heat levels below zero. When it comes to erotica, I feel like the physical aspect takes away from the emotional one. Historical… well, I’m a 21th century girl all around. Cannot get into them.

7- When a book gets super-advertised.

I cannot help it, I get wary. 50 Shades was the first book ever I watched a tv commercial of. I was so happy I actually called my mom from the kitchen saying: “mom, they’re finally making book commercials. This book must be amazing.” Now every time I see a book ad, even on fb, I think “If they need advertising, this can’t be a very great book.” Like the ad is compensation for the usual hype a good book would normally have.

8- Silly books

I’ve always had a problem with silliness in romance novels, because it’s hard to take the feelings seriously if everything around it is just a joke. That’s why “The Unidentified Redhead” by Clayton didn’t truly work for me and also why I had to really suspend my believes when reading “Worth It” by Owens and Shades, because everything was so damn silly. I love hilarious books, but in a clever way, not 100% fun an games and no depth at all. I want to be moved, to swoon and for the characters to have serious conversations, too.

9- Too smooth and boring rides

No one likes boring books. And even though I appreciate some uneventful, happy reads where the MC’s feelings are the roots of all dynamics, some books just revolve around the same two, three issues, and can’t seem to go beyond those. Me dontz like it. I love it when something twisty happens and I’m left gaping. Or even when we get a few slight bumps in the road. But overly “everything is peachy” reads are not what I’m looking for.

10- The heroine being the chaser

This is not a deal breaker. I recently read a book “This is Reckless” in which the heroine was the main chaser and I still loved it. Yet, I prefer my Hs doing the chase, being so sure of what they want that they won’t hesitate to make it clear to the heroine that she will be theirs one day. It’s that sprinkle of alphaness which is never unappreciated.

So, these are my bookish turn offs. It was actually pretty hard to come up with them off the top of my head because it’s way easier to say what attracts you in a book rather than what doesn’t. Now, which are yours?

 

 

8 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Ten Bookish turn-offs (Things That Will Make Me Instantly NOT Want To Read A Book)

  1. Geybie's Book Blog says:

    I have a love and hate relationship with tearjerkers, especially if the writing is awesome. It hurts but it’s too good to put down. Torture!!! 😁
    Same with you, I prefer the hero to be the chaser. Haha
    Number 4 is sometimes a deal breaker especially when the hero is with the OW for such a long time that covers almost the entire story, only to be with the heroine at the beginning and the end. Oh NO. I want to read more of them. 😩

    Awesome list!! 👍🏻❤️

    Like

    • taliaredhotink says:

      Exactly! I feel cheated on if I end up reading about a couple which is not the intended one. Also because as a side effect, you usually don’t have much development in the real relationship, given how most pages were devoted to the H and the OW

      Like

    • taliaredhotink says:

      I try to shy away from it as much as possible 🙂 And I read your list; and I totally agree with the poor writing. I DNFed some books because it was too much of an effort reconstructing the sense of their sentences, they were so butchered.

      Like

Leave a Reply

