Review: Jaded and Tied by Penelope Ward

Jaded and TyedJaded and Tyed by Penelope Ward

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I don’t read many novellas, but when I found out this one was free I jumped on it.

So… we met these two characters in Neighbor Dearest. They’re Damien’s brother and Chelsea’s sister and the first time they saw each other, Tyler made an ass of himself, getting weirdly awe-struck by the gorgeous Broadway actress… with his girlfriend just a few feet away.

As far as novellas go, this one had good pacing, although I felt like the ending was a bit rushed. The fact that Tyler was with someone else for most of the book didn’t bother me as much as I thought it would. And I highly appreciated how he broke up with Nicole before doing anything with Jade. It made up for the emotional affair, given how much time he’d spent chatting with Jade behind Nicole’s back.


Tyler: By the way, I saw our nephew today.
Jade: How is he?
Tyler: He called me a dick.
Jade: OMG…I just literally spit out my drink.
Tyler: Careful. You wouldn’t want to have to take that Snuggie to the dry cleaners. That would be embarrassing.
Jade: LOL. Okay…Little D is only a year old. There is no way he called you a dick.
Tyler: I swear to God. It was his first word. Chelsea was there and confirmed it. He looked straight into my eyes and said, “dick.”
Jade: What did you do?
Tyler: I nodded and said, “Touché, little man.”

There are a few plot twists that helped deepening their connection and I was glad that they had the time to get closer, talk and develop a friendship before diving into relationship territory. So when they finally got together, it didn’t feel awkward. There wasn’t a ‘real’ separation, but rather a small misunderstanding that was easily resolved and, being an ambitious woman, I totally swooned over how Tyler resolved their long-distance relationship issue.

All in all, it was quick, sweet, fun with a sprinkle of sexy on top. It doesn’t of course measure up to Neighbor Dearest and all that texting filled lots of pages that just flew by so that in the end it felt even shorter, which is why I gave it four stars instead of five. Still, I highly recommend it. This writer knows how to handle all the elements without anything going missing or feeling lacking.


“There are only two choices. We do nothing…or we do everything. I don’t feel like there’s an in between with you, Jade. I feel like I went from zero to a hundred from the moment I first saw you.”

8 thoughts on “Review: Jaded and Tied by Penelope Ward

Leave a Reply

