Blogger Bits: Fathers By Blood and By Heart

Blogger Bits is a bi-monthly feature in which I, and a group of fellow bloggers, will discuss random topics in the bookish world.

In three days it’s going to be father’s day in a good portion of the world… not where I live(and believe me, it was a shock to find out it wasn’t a global date), but anyway today’s topic is: Fathers In Literature. Given how my most read genre is contemporary romance and NA, I figured I’d write a post listing my favorite father figures in these two genres and what makes them so special.

First of all, I want to say that with father’s figures, I’m not including the H and h’s fathers themselves. It’s not what my post will be about and, also, I reckon it’d be a very depressing parade otherwise. These two genres aren’t known for their sweet, caring parenting figures, which is a shame, but also a guilty pleasure of mine.

What this is all about is H becoming dads, already being dads (probably single), or becoming step-dads.

Another thing, even though I’m quite young and not up to have kids at the moment, and probably not for a while, there’s something absolutely endearing and strangely sexy about men with kids. Especially when they know what they’re doing. So, seeing a guy cradling their baby, or high-fiving their toddler, or simply piggy-back riding a kid… instant ovary-explosion.

I think it’s in our DNA as females to be attracted to males in the species who are good with the progeny. Being  a dad is just a short way to say that the man is thoughtful, caring and with a head on his shoulders. Of course it’s not always the case in real life, but when you the read the words “single dad” in a blurb, that’s usually what you can expect.

WARNING: IN SOME OF THE BOOKS LISTED BELOW, THE FACT THAT THE H IS A FATHER WAS A SURPRISE, OFTEN FOUND OUT WELL INTO THE NARRATION, SO BEWARE OF THE SPOILERS.

So, hereby is my top 7 fathers:

Pick from “Be My Hero” (Forbidden Men #3) by Linda Kage

Be My Hero (Forbidden Men, #3)

I almost named my post: “Fathers Not By Blood But By Heart”, where I’d only list those non biological dads who still were the best fathers the kid could ever hope to have. It would have excluded some key characters, so I changed the main theme, but well, this is exactly the case. “Pick” married his druggie childhood friend just to give her a home where to stay and health insurance, or something like that, and when she bailed, he took care of her newborn baby as if it were his. This story is very centered on the theme of parenthood and the two kids, “his” and Eva’s (the h, not the childhood friend) were main characters are well as all the other ones. I think this may be the most baby-heavy book I’ve ever read and to date, it’s one of my absolute favorites. Even though the cover and title may seem a bit… damsel in distress-like, this book was totally empowering and a beautiful romance.

Houston from “The Girl I Was Before” (Falling #3) by Ginger Scott

The Girl I Was Before (Falling, #3)

Houston, Houston, Houston. Widower dad in his early twenties, he would have been my last guess to be paired with an h like Paige, who in the previous books had been one obnoxious bitch. But what do you know, I ended up loving this book above all others in the Falling series. Houston had a lot to do with it. His relationship with his little daughter was special. He’s the kind of man you want to have in the long run: dependable, serious, and 100% devoted to you. Paige is a total bombshell and Houston couldn’t even believe she’d ever choose him. But their relationship blossomed beautifully and even though there were a few rough patches, in the end you could tell they’d live all happily ever after.

Hunter from “Never Been Kissed” by CM Kars

Never Been Kissed (Never Been, #1)This author is almost unknown, but this book certainly deserves more recognition. It was different from any other story I’d ever read, matching an insecure, super-nerdy, kinda chubby h with a hot as hell, single dad, who then turns out to be only the uncle of the little kid, Matty. Well, what makes this book so special is that both Matty and Hunter suffer from diabetes, something also the h’s mom had. Being neighbors, Sera, the heroine, helps Hunter one day when he’s having a “crisis” (sorry, I didn’t know how else to call it), and then starts to help him out with the kid. Hunter is the epitome of the perfect single dad, even though he isn’t by blood. He took care of that smart, cute, kid like it was his own. They had their inside jokes, their traditions, etc. This book was a bit more angsty than what I usually like, especially in the end, when Hunter’s streak of assholish-ness showed again a bit. But the story per se was moving and fun and hot and sweet. I SO need to re-read this one!

Graham from “Stuck-Up Suit” by Vi Keeland and Penelope Ward

Stuck-Up SuitI have to admit that, in this book, Graham being a father wasn’t his defining feature. His daughter doesn’t live with him and if I’m remembering it correctly, we only find out about it late in the narration. Still, this was a great book and I appreciated how Graham put up with his crazy ex for the sake of his daughter, even though it hurt the heroine. He’d do anything to spend a little time with his little girl.

 

Romeo from “#Bae” (Hashtag series) by Cambria Hebert

#Bae (Hashtag, #7)Well, I couldn’t not mention a book which is 90% about pregnancy. Truth is, we don’t  get to see the baby much in this book because it’s mostly about the heroine struggling to conceive after a miscarriage and how the main characters are dealing with this. Yet, Romeo Anderson, probably my n.1 book boyfriend in the NA genre, is perfect in every aspect when it comes to reassuring his wife, taking care of her during the pregnancy, taking her feelings into consideration, and being overall amazing. Even though we only see him with the baby in the epilogue, I think, I considered him a father nonetheless throughout the whole book.

Brody from “Room For You” by Beth Ehemann

Room for You (Cranberry Inn, #1)

Brody is a young, strapping, laid back hockey player. His life should be all about fame and success, yet it couldn’t be further from the truth. He’s carefree, yes, but he’s got a solid head on his ripped shoulders. When he falls for the single mother of two who manages the boarding house he stumbled into during a storm, he seamlessly makes his way into the woman’s heart and becomes a fun father figure for her kids.  The daughters are very present in this novel and it was such a surprise to see this young man falling in love with them as well as their mother. Cuteness overload, I’m telling you. Plus, this is only the first book in a duet plus a novella (there are also other books in this series about side-characters) and even though the second book was a tad more angsty than the first, Brody never ceased being one amazing step-father, and the best scene of all was their wedding, when he involved the kids in the vows and had them dancing with him.

Matt from “Stay” (WAGs) by Sarina Bowen and Elle Kennedy

Stay (WAGs, #2)

Matt is a divorced father who, unfortunately, cannot see his two little girls as much as he wishes thanks to his hockey-riddled schedule and his uptight, controlling ex-wife. In this book the kids weren’t main characters and we only get a few scenes with them. Still, Matt’s desire to have more time to spend with them and his resigned acceptance to his ex’s stupid rules and prevarications for the sake of his kids was endearing and realistic. He loves his daughters so much and he’s an amazing father, always finding a compromise to his ex wife’s strict parenting.


I guess this is it, for our first Blogger Bits! I can’t wait to read what my other blogging friends will have to say about this topic and am looking forward to all the indirect recs.
Personally, I loved this theme because, besides having a kick-ass dad myself, who’s my personal hero (total daddy’s girl, here), it’s a trope I’ve learned to love with the years. Of course, in my teens, reading about pregnancies and fathers wasn’t exactly something I adored (I could have easily done with a kid-less Breaking Dawn, so to speak), but now I’m finding myself more and more attracted to these kinds of stories. My only hang up is when the H pushes the h away because he doesn’t want to upset their family status quo, or when he repeatedly hurts her by choosing their daughters or ex-wife (usually a blackmailing and guilt-tripping bitch) over her. But in most cases, this doesn’t happen and single dads or step-dads and such are amazing characters with a set of qualities that makes them the ultimate book boyfriends, or rather… book husbands. They automatically exude a degree of maturity that lets you know they’re going to be there for you through thick and thin, no matter what.

 

So, final question, what are your favorite Fathers Heroes in Literature?

 

18 thoughts on “Blogger Bits: Fathers By Blood and By Heart

  1. taliaredhotink says:

    Oh, the WAGs’ series is amazing. It all started with Him and Us, actually, and the WAGs became a spin-off, but the books can totally be read as standalones. And these two authors are simply amazing. I love them on their own too, but when they pair up… it’s something else!

    Like

    • taliaredhotink says:

      They’re not standalones. Book 1,2,3 are about Romeo and Rimmel. 4 and 5 are about Braeden and Ivy, then book 6 is told by their 4 POVs. Honestly, you could also read #bae without all the rest, since it’s a story on its own, in the end. You may get a few spoilers, though. I’d recommend you read at least 1-2-3, to get the whole picture, and also because it’s an amazing series. Very romantic and it gets better with every instalment. Number 1 was maybe the less convincing one.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Beware Of The Reader says:

    I know he was not a real biological father but it was Nick from Worth The Wait by Claudia Connor. He was so lovinf an protective of his brothers and lmittle sister. Best father ever 😉

    Like

    • taliaredhotink says:

      I may be the most clueless person on the planet, but I’ve never heard of this book or author. I’ll check both out 🙂
      Oh, also I just figured I should have definitely added Gordo from Wolfsong!

      Like

  3. taliaredhotink says:

    I get you. I always start with this super-organized list of books with dates and everything, then I read other blogger’s reviews, browse GR a bit and my pretty schedule goes to hell.

    Like

Leave a Reply

