Review: “Devotion” by Alexa Riley

DevotionDevotion by Alexa Riley

My rating: 2 of 5 stars

The first book I read by Riley was Shielding Lily and, for how much of a guilty pleasure as it was, I enjoyed it. It hooked me in with it’s OTT everything, the first love, the possessiveness and jealousy, the hotness, the traumatic present of the heroine.

So the other day, after reading a great, but emotionally draining novel, I decided to treat myself to some smut. Short, sexy, without strings. This to say that I knew what I was getting into. I wasn’t looking for Shakespeare.

Still, it didn’t measure up to my expectations. The OTT alpha male was there as well as the naive heroine, but I didn’t swoon for the hero neither did I sympathize with the doormat heroine.

The smutty part wasn’t even that hot. In a nut shell, this book didn’t grab me. Being a novella, I’d also expected the pace to be different, instead the sexy part only started at around 70% if I’m not mistaken. Which made the ending rushed and the confrontation with the heroine’s mother anticlimatic at best. Like some sort of final appendix.

4 thoughts on “Review: “Devotion” by Alexa Riley

    • taliaredhotink says:

      If you’re not into smut, then I wouldn’t recommend her books. It’s the ugly truth, but they have the depth of a kiddies’ pool. And I’ve come to the conclusion that I’m not into smut, either. I need plot and 3D characters. Also, I’m a bit over OTT alpha males…

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

