Review: “Saving Ella” by Kirsty Dallas

Saving Ella (Mercy's Angels, #1)

Saving Ella (Mercy’s Angels #1) by Kirsty Dallas

5 “Angel” stars

Oh my! This book!!!! It was so good! Okay, enough with the exclamations.


So, let’s see, what makes this book so great? First of all, I want to say that abused heroines are a very common trope and that rarely I’ve found a book that gave them and their hard path back to life justice. That being said, what I loved was that Ella was not a weak character. Sure, she’s scarred and some parts of her are most definitely broken, but she’s a warrior at heart and that’s what transpired of her.

Also… Jax. My sweet, loving Jax.

I fell in love with his character immediately, seeing with how much care he treated the women in the shelter. Always aware of their demons, and battling his own. I think what really sold me though was his humanity. Because Jax is not Mr. Perfect. He’s barely a knight in shining armor. Sometimes he gets frustrated, sometimes he fucks up. But more importantly, he never denies his feelings for his angel and fights for the both of them with his teeth and nails. His unbreakable soul was as endearing as it was poetic. Jax is a man that would give up anything for his love, who would literally walk through hell and back. His are not just words and Dallas does a wonderful job at shaping his character in such a way that the reader knows he wouldn’t hesitate a second to protect what’s his.

The plot was maybe the only weak point. We don’t have really twists or revelations. The ending was quite predictable, yet it didn’t take anything from the narration. I thought of this book as Ella and Jax’s story out of their personal hells and toward their life together, so all the rest was a plus.

Moreover, Dallas was great at introducing just the right amount of side characters. Too many times the first book of a series is riddled by “characters dumps.” Even in my ever-favorite Black Dagger Brotherhood’s first book, it got confusing with all those characters and I could barely understand who was who. Instead, in “Saving Ella,” there were no fillers, so to speak. Each and every character was amazingly shaped and “personalized”. Each one serving their purpose and creating this group of people that I’m already missing. Which is why I plan to pick up the second instalment right away for Rebecca and Charlie’s story.

I’m a bit skeptical about them since I was hoping to see how Dallas would deal with another “abuse” story and Rebecca instead sounds more like a carefree, outspoken, self-assured woman, but this author has already surprised me once.

Leave a Reply

