Release day blitz + Review: This Is Dangerous (Checkmate Duet Series) by Kennedy Fox

 

Title: Checkmate: This is Dangerous
Series: Checkmate Duet Series (Logan & Kayla, #1)
Author: Kennedy Fox
Designer & Photographer: Sara Eirew
Genre: Contemporary Romance
Trope: Second-Chance Romance
Release Date: July 6,  2017
Goodreads: http://bit.ly/2opDUMz

Introducing book 1 in the Logan & Kayla saga of the Checkmate series from a secret duo of romance authors who teamed up under the USA Today Bestselling pseudonym, Kennedy Fox! This second-chance romance will have you gasping and cheering this two on from the first to the last page! Are you ready to play the final game?

***

Logan Knight is a real life knight in shining armor.
A detective godsend in a sleek black suit has me thinking less than secretive thoughts. Brooding and mysterious, he’s the kind of guy every girl instantly notices. Between his seductive smirk and charming good looks, it’s no wonder I can’t help the way he makes me feel whenever I’m near him.
Too bad he’s unavailable—or so he says.

He thinks I’m a do-gooder who shouldn’t get involved with a guy like him. His past is messy and relationships just add to that. He insists the timing is all wrong and he’s devoted to his career, but I don’t buy that excuse for a second. I see the way his body tenses and his jaw ticks every time another guy is around me. He just won’t admit it, but I’m more determined than ever to show him what he’s missing.

I’m a devoted animal rescuer and I’ll risk everything to save them, but when a dramatic turn of events puts both our lives at risk, I’m positive Logan will write me off for good. But when he asks for my help with a personal crisis, I know it’s my last chance to finally show him I can handle anything he throws my way—messy past and all.

He might think he has me all figured out, but I’ll prove him wrong no matter what he thinks. This game of push and pull has me running in circles. One wrong move and we could both lose.

Checkmate, Knight.

*Recommend for ages 18+ due to sexual content and adult language.*

**This is book 1 in the Logan & Kayla Saga–a second-chance romance. You don’t need to read any of the other Checkmate series to enjoy this one, but is always recommended as they are both introduced in the earlier books.**


Amazon US: hyperurl.co/tidamzus
Amazon UK:
hyperurl.co/tidamzuk
Amazon AU: hyperurl.co/tidamzau
Amazon CA: hyperurl.co/tidamzca

PREORDER: (will be live tomorrow, 7.7.17)

iBooks: http://apple.co/2pu0dAR
Kobo: http://bit.ly/2oZt4eV
Barnes: http://bit.ly/2q5i9Sk

review.png

4 “As much as I hate to admit it, I’m drawn to him like sprinkles on donuts.” STARS

It’s release day on Amazon for this bad boy and I couldn’t be happier to share my thoughts about it with y’all.

This book is the first half of Kayla and Logan’s story. It’s gonna be hard to not spoiler anything because there were some major plot twists from the very beginning, first of all, who Skylar really is… dun-dun-duuun. I’m sure you’re dying to know.

Anyway, while you stew in your theories and hypothesis, what I can tell you is that I loved both characters. You cannot not like Kayla because she’s such a genuine and kind person, although her kinky side won’t allow the label of Mary Sue. I loved seeing her with her fur babies and how deeply she cared not just about them but about all animals. To the point that she will almost risk her life to save one. Her back story was indeed sad and there’s a part of it we’re still not privy of, secrets she’s still keeping from everyone. I have a feeling all of this will play a major role in the second book, even though I kind of already have an idea about the whole matter.

That’s why I like you so much. You don’t allow my insecurities to take over. You welcome and dismiss them. Thank you for caring about me. I can’t say too many people have.”

I highly appreciated how much more of a romantic suspense this one was compared to its predecessors. Sure, Mia effing Mongomery had been a great nemesis, but I was excited to see new threats at the horizon.

As for Logan, beside the earthquake caused by his relation to Skylar, he’s exactly the same man we’ve met in the previous instalment. Quiet, stern almost, but loyal and fearless. In this book, he reveals himself as a true Knight in Shining Armor.

“I wish you could see what I see.” She places the palm of her hand against my chest, my heart beating rapidly. “You have a kind heart. you’re a protector. You’re always here when I need you. Whether or not you see it, you’re a good soul, Logan Knight.”


Also, Logan’s thoughtful gifts and easy banter were a surprise. I’d been a bit scared he wouldn’t be tridimentional enough as a character, being too strict, too cop-like even in his personal life, and instead what I found was a very caring and lovable man who’s not afraid to show his girlfriend how much he cares about her.

He’s hoarding secrets like a double layer of Spanx and there’s barely enough wiggle room to breathe, but that doesn’t mean I’m not up for the challenge.

That being said, their relationship as a whole wasn’t as epic as Traviola or Drewtney. Sure, he pushes her away at first and there’s a bit of angst caused by that, but nothing compared to Drew’s situation with Mia or the frenemies situation between Travis and Viola. It was a nice romance, kind of slow-burn, and with the added bonus of jealousy caused by a very hot third party. Still, I didn’t feel like their relationship was so impossible as I’d felt for the other two at the beginning.

There were also tons of hilarious moments. Kayla’s mess ups with her texts, the donuts references, the get togethers with the girls and the whole gang. I always love it to catch up with old characters.

“So what’s this I hear about you being pussy whipped?” Travis blurts out, making e nearly choke on my beer.
“Dude,” Drew snickers.
Travis points to my sweater with his beer and raises his brows. “I know I’m pussy whipped, but that’s after being married and three kids. You’re still in the new relationship phase. You’re supposed to cover your balls for another few months at least before you hand them over.”

Overall, Kennedy Fox’s style is really easy and fun to read. Their dialogues are always realistic and then they write tidbits like this that have me laughing out loud.

Christian is one of those hot doctor clichés that you only see on Instagram with a six-pack of abs and perfect smile to boot.

C’mon, we all know these people. And with know I mean STALK. Very gracefully and lady-likey, but still…

And then the ending. WHAT. THE. HECK!
The ending was hands down the most brutal of the three. Honestly, the future trope that stemmed from that final sentence is so not one of my favorites. Yet, given Logan’s personality and the way Kennedy Fox always manages to let the reader know that, despite everything, the MC will stand by each other’s side and never give up on their feelings, I’m positive my heart will not hurt too badly and that we’ll have our HEA.

Release Day Giveaway

THE GRANDE FINALE OF THE CHECKMATE DUET SERIES IS COMING SOON!

Title: Checkmate: This is Beautiful
Series: Checkmate Duet Series (Logan & Kayla, #2)
Author: Kennedy Fox
Genre: Contemporary Romance
Trope: Second Chance Romance
Photographer & Designer: Sara Eirew
Release Date: September 12, 2017


Goodreads: http://bit.ly/2pbTtV1

iBooks Pre-order: http://apple.co/2s5M11F
Kobo Pre-order: http://bit.ly/2qMr5ck
Nook Pre-order: http://bit.ly/2sqMwRj
Amazon Pre-order Notification

To get a one time notification when
Checkmate: This is Dangerous is live on all platforms,
please sign up here!

BUY NOW


BUY NOW


BUY NOW


BUY NOW

OUR BOOKS ARE AVAILABLE IN AUDIO FORMAT TOO!
CLICK HERE!

 

A secret duo of romance authors team up under the USA Today Bestselling pseudonym, Kennedy Fox who share a love of You’ve Got Mail and The Holiday. When they aren’t bonding over romantic comedies, they like to brainstorm new book ideas. One day, they decided to collaborate and have some fun creating new characters that’ll make your lady bits tingle and your heart melt. If you enjoy romance stories with sexy, tattooed alpha males and smart, independent women, then a Kennedy Fox book is for you!

Instagram: instagram.com/kennedyfoxbooks | @kennedyfoxbooks
Twitter: twitter.com/kennedyfoxbooks | @kennedyfoxbooks
Facebook: facebook.com/kennedyfoxbooks/
Website: www.kennedyfoxbooks.com
Merch Shop: kennedyfoxbooks.com/shop
Email: kennedyfoxbooks@gmail.com
Newsletter: http://eepurl.com/cngqYT

 

2 thoughts on “Release day blitz + Review: This Is Dangerous (Checkmate Duet Series) by Kennedy Fox

  1. Beware Of The Reader says:

    Fantastic review Talia! And I love the graphics of this launch puprple little fox and co. Very girly 😉

    Like

    • taliaredhotink says:

      Thanks! I think one of the authors used to design their covers at first. They’re very good at it. I especially like how they’re true to their design idea, using always the same layout and different colors for the duets. I bet they look amazing on the shelves ❤ ❤ ❤
      They also have some super cool swag with that fox logo.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

