Review: Royally Raised

Royally Raised (Royally, #2.5)Royally Raised by Emma Chase

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Before you raise your pitchforks, let me say a couple things. Royally Screwed and Royally Matched have been two highlights of my year so far. Henry and Sara are one of my all time favorite couples Love them.

Now, when I found about Royally Raised, first of all, I thought it was gonna be a novella. Which is not. It’s a short story. Secondly, I had envisioned something with a beginning, something happening in the middle, and then some sort of resolution.

Mind you, I enjoyed seeing Henry and Sara a couple decades down the road and still madly in love with each other. What I didn’t exactly get was the whole situation with their daughter, who is basically the personification of Henry’s grandma, but also very spoiled… I think Henry and Sara found some sort of solution to help their teenage daughter be less entitled, but I didn’t get the point of all that. I didn’t know her character prior to reading this. I didn’t feel connected to her. There weren’t enough pages for me to know whether whatever solution they’d thought of had worked and she’d changed her perspective. So bringing this highly intelligent brat into the situation didn’t give me the warm and fuzzies. It made me wonder why, out of all funny, or romantic, or interesting snippets that must have occurred in out MCs lives, the author chose this one.

Still, I’m not discouraging you to read it. If you’re a fan of the series like me, it’s worth it, even if just for the brief cammeos and the royal couple being their lovely selves.

6 thoughts on “Review: Royally Raised

    • taliaredhotink says:

      I’m glad too not to be the only one to think that! For the whole story I was waiting for something meaningful to happen. And although it was totally nice to see the characters living their everyday lives… that was it. Just nice. Nothing more.

      Liked by 1 person

    • taliaredhotink says:

      Hey, Sophie, sorry for the late reply. I’ve been on a short trip and didn’t manage to catch up. The first book is amazing, but in my opinion, the second is even better. It was impossible not to releate to a bookworn heroine 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

