Half Review: “Tapping the Billionaire” by Max Monroe

Tapping the Billionaire (Billionaire Bad Boys, #1)Tapping the Billionaire by Max Monroe

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

DNF 45%

I usually don’t rate or review my DNFs the way I do the others, but I felt like I should give you an explanation.

First of all, I might pick this one up again in the future if I need something hilarious and light.

Secondly, this book isn’t bad. The style alone probably deserves around 4.5 stars. Thing is, I started it super excited and laughing at loud. Then, even before 20 percent, I lost interest. Even though it was still funny, I believe a book cannot sustain itself only on funny happenstances. I needed something more, also relationship wise, while there were practically no obstacles. Now, I know I didn’t went that far, so issues & Co probably made an apparition later, but also the characters didn’t pull me in. Super sassy and weirdly super self-confident virgin and gentleman playboy… I don’t know, but I didn’t find the first one believable as a character and at the same time have developed a eye-roll response to the second.

What I’m saying is that I’m really not feeling this one. Lately I’m reading more and more books that are not canonical and don’t exactly fit one genre, with some shocking plot twists, or that keep me on the edge. I’m looking for something a bit deeper and I’ve always had my issues concerning Romantic Comedies, so that I rarely get sucked into one.

That being said, I don’t want to discourage anyone from reading this, because it’s objectively a good book. The style is hilarious and it’s great as a beach read. If it’s your jam, go for it. It’s just not for me, right now

Leave a Reply

