Review: “Black Lies” by Alessandra Torre

Black LiesBlack Lies by Alessandra Torre

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

So… yeah. This happened.

I don’t even know how I’ll be able to review this without spoilering.

Still, hands down, 5 stars and more. This book was genius. I’m so glad that I gave Alessandra Torre another chance, after being less than impressed by Hollywood Dirt.

The best thing about this book is that it’s unexpected. Upon reading the blurb, I already had something sketched in my mind. I thought I’d hate Brant, have conflicted feelings about Layana and love Lee. I thought it would be a “boring husband, slutty wife, and passionate lover” kind of thing. But no, this book was so far from that that it’s not even funny.

This book is 100% a love story.

It’s romantic, and it’s heart-wrenching in a way that I hadn’t thought possible. I also thought that whatever the deal was would be revealed in the end and cut short, with some lame explanation of why this woman wants two men, but instead was surprised by how much in-depth the whole thing was treated. Suddenly, it was like a veil was raised from my eyes and I wondered how I hadn’t noticed right away. It completely changed the way I saw each and every character.

The story itself went from “interesting and mind-riddling” to “OMG, WHAT A LOVE STORY!”

I’m not gonna say anything else because this book needs to be tasted without any other flavor poisoning it.

YOU NEED TO GO IN BLIND!

What I can tell you is that I’m a super-picky reader who shies away from most of the topics hinted at in the plot. And yet this book was exactly my jam, because it’s romance at its purest and finest. Because it fucks with your head and leaves you slightly exhausted in the end. Because you want more and when the book is over, you wish you could have the author right beside you to keep talking about it.

So you have no excuses. Read it, love it, and find out the truth behind these black lies!

 

9 thoughts on “Review: “Black Lies” by Alessandra Torre

    • taliaredhotink says:

      Yes, exactly! I was so surprised because after Hollywood Dirt, I didn’t have high expectations. I was reading it basically just to know what all the fuss is about. But this book is a totally different ball-game. Now I’ll check out the one you mentioned.

      Liked by 1 person

  1. taliaredhotink says:

    I like the idea of never knowing what to expect from an author. Keeps us all on our toes, wondering…
    And after Black Lies, I’m sure I’ll keep an eye out for Torre’s future releases.

    Like

Leave a Reply

